Visiting the Burial Rites Locations in Iceland

14 thoughts on “Visiting the Burial Rites Locations in Iceland”

  1. I started reading Burial Rites the last time I was in Iceland, though I was mostly in the southeast, with a day on Snaefellsness, so I wasn’t near where the events of Burial Rites took place. But I could just imagine the landscape and the isolation Agnes must have felt.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Totally agree that there is something about Icelandic landscapes that let you understand how isolated Agnes must have felt! That feeling was even more eerie in the Northern areas, where the events took place. So interesting! ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  2. wow! this sounds like it was such a great trip! I’ve never done a trip where I tracked locations from a book, so to do that, and in the beautiful and haunting locations in Iceland no less, sounds so compelling 🙂 Burial Rites was one of my fav books when I read it a couple of years back, so Im so glad you got to see so many of the locations underlying its story 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I did the exact trip as you about 5 years ago and have very similar photos, and like you found it sad, eerie and fascinating and loved the book. I also met up with the man who did all of the translation for Hannah Kent and he signed my copy of Burial rites, a wonderful end to the most amazing trip

      Like

      1. Very interesting, thank you. My husband had read the book twice, as it is part of his family’s history. His 5th great grandfather, Natan’s brother, was allowed to perform the beheadings. We are visiting next month and reporting to his relatives at the next family reunion.

        Like

  3. Hi.
    Having read the book, and even visited the sites of Illugastadir, Kornsa, Thristapar and the Tjørn cemetery I have to agree that this is a very fascinating book. One thing however that bothers me a bit about Kents book, is that in the aftermath you kind of stand with the feeling that Fridrik certainly was guilty and that Agnes possibly was not, fact is we do not know. I mean can you imagine the same book being written about Fridrik instead of Agnes? Probably not. There is something about the everlasting story of history being cruel to women that annoys me. In those days living was cruel to women AND men in various ways. I am not trying to take anything away from the book, because it IS GOOD. Would have been even better however if Kent had focused on the last days of Agnes as well as Fridrik.

    Like

Leave a comment